Volunteer of the Year


2018 Volunteer of the Year Awards Luncheon

The Village of Schaumburg would like to congratulate the 2018 Volunteer of the Year Award winners: Robert Frost Junior High Interact Club (Organization of the Year), Charley Shroyer (Volunteer of the Year) and Emily Staudt (Youth Volunteer of the Year). The three were honored from a list of 16 total volunteer nominees at the 31st Annual Volunteer of the Year Award luncheon held April 18. A highlight of the event included keynote speaker, Bill Kurtis, who shared stories of individuals he met throughout his career who lived their lives to volunteer and serve others. Kurtis also reminded attendees of the importance of volunteering with the phrase: "If you don't do it, who will?" The village congratulates all nominees who were recognized at the event. If you are looking for a way to give back to the community, visit the village's website for volunteer opportunities available in the area.

The 31st Annual Volunteer of the Year Luncheon recognized adults, young people and organizations that, through volunteer efforts, help to make Schaumburg a better place. There are three nominating categories:   


  • Adult Volunteer
  • Volunteer Organization
  • Youth Volunteer
    (junior high or high school age)


Help us recognize our volunteers every year - make a nomination in 2019!          


Nomination deadline for 2018 was April 2.


Volunteer of the Year Awards Luncheon

Wednesday, April 18, 2018, 11:30 a.m. 


401 N. Roselle Road, Schaumburg, IL 

Open to the public; attendees do not need to be nominated or have someone nominated to attend. There is no charge for nominees.         




For more information, email the Schaumburg Special Events Coordinator or call 847.923.3605.



Dear Friends:

Without volunteers, Schaumburg’s Village government could not function. The Zoning Board, the Plan Commission, Schaumburg’s Board of Health are all comprised of volunteers. Volunteers organize and operate Septemberfest. Volunteers serve as members of the Village’s Cultural Commission, Bikeways Committee, and Olde Schaumburg Centre Commission. Volunteers hire Schaumburg’s police officers and fire fighters through the Police and Fire Commission.  

Please volunteer some time on behalf of volunteers and nominate an adult for Volunteer of the Year, a Junior High through High School age Youth of the Year and/or a worthy organization for Volunteer Organization of the Year. We need to hear about the good that some people are doing and about the fine work that volunteer organizations are involved in. Your help will help us give these folks the recognition they deserve. Please feel free to forward the nomination materials to a colleague if an organization or individual does not immediately come to mind and/or share the information about this wonderful awards opportunity at any of your group’s upcoming events.


Al Larson


Previous Winners

Adult / Organization / Youth

2018 Charley Shroyer / Robert Frost Junior High Interact Club / Emily Staudt
2017 Herb Demmel / Adult Transition Program South (ATP) / Calandra Bessemer
2016 Katy Garcia / Church of the Holy Spirit Food Pantry / Jocelyn Huey
2015 Lynn Eikenbary / Schaumburg MOMS Club / Elizabeth Einig
2014 Teri Dudasik / Schaumburg Professional Firefighters Benevolent Association (SPFBA) / Amanda Mytych & Sania Zaffar
2013 Harold Sterling / Sons and Daughters of Italy in America / Isha Jog
2012 Dan & Debbie Gallagher / Feed My Starving Children / Iza Gawel
2011 Richard A. "Bud" Napier / Assurance Caring Together (ACT) Committee / Jay Flynn
2010 Larry & René Netzer / Ala Carte Entertainment Volunteer Program for SLSF & the Ala Carte Entertainment - NWSRA Golf                 Classic / Lisa Caponigri
2009 Carol Hall / Clearbrook PAL Program /  Payal Shukla
2008 Valerie M. Profit / UPS for DownS / Rachael Souza
2007 Sara VanDahm / American Legion Post #1983 / Ashley Darnall
2006 Ann Long / Motorola Asian Business Council / Matthew Bauer
2005 Mary Lynn McGee / Septemberfest Committee / Susan Thomas
2004 LaVerne Horgan / Spring Valley Concert Band / Mallory Scholpp
2003 Mary Nagy / VFW Post 2202 / Ashley Kehoe
2002 Marinell Napier / Prairie Center Arts Foundation & Friends of the Prairie Center
2001 Nelson McRoberts / Citizens Police Academy / Alumni Association of Schaumburg
2000 JoAnn Owens / Rotary Club of Schaumburg-Hoffman Estates
1999 Kathy Ary / Schaumburg Jaycees
1998 Marilyn Biolchin / Schaumburg Peer Jury
1997 Gordon Mazursky / Spring Valley Nature Club
1996 Christine Starzynski / Strays Halfway House
1995 Geri Czech / Schaumburg Athletic Association
1994 Steve Isackson / WACO
1993 Bob Cairns / Help Our People Everywhere
1992 Everett Stenstrom / Community Nutrition Network
1991 Pete Justen / Conant High School’s Learning Through Action
1990 Christine Fenn / Schaumburg-Hoffman Lions
1989 Jarnette Dill / Schaumburg Jaycees
1988 Ruth Park / The United Way